• info@howardcountymuseum.org

  • 1200 West Sycamore, Kokomo,
    Indiana 46901

  • (765) 452-4314

Hall of Legends

Howard County Hall of Legends

Howard County Hall of Legends

Howard County has been home to a wide variety of accomplished and well-known individuals, some of whom have been recognized by the historical society's Hall of Legends program. On these pages, you can learn about a world-famous children's author, a nationally-recognized artist, leading journalists in both television and newspapers, a military commander who flew everything from balloons to bombers and led the European air command in World War II. You'll meet the father of modern rocketry, a world-renowned forensic pathologist, a country music superstar,  the very first female US Marine, two pioneers of the auto industry and a modern leader of a major world-wide car manufacturer. There's an Olympic athlete, the father of modern optometry, and a box office star, along with industrialists, educators, business and community leaders, philanthropists and more. We're proud of them all, and of the examples they have set for future generations.

Take a few minutes to click on the photos and learn about the Legends..... and if you'd like to nominate a deserving recipient, CLICK HERE to learn more.

Our inductees this year include Meta Christy, Ben Cotner, Rachel Jenkins, Reverend Robert A. Lee, Dr. Lance Washington, and Don Moore, who will join a remarkable group of people and organizations with at least one thing in common: a commitment to improving life for others in Howard County, the state of Indiana, and nationwide.


For sponsorship information, please call 765-452-4314 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Dr. Meta Christy, DO
Ben Cotner
Rachel Jenkins
Rev. Robert A. Lee
Don Moore
Dr. Lance Washington
Richard Cardwell
Hollis King
Joseph Klein
Marjorie Nelson
Mike Wyant
Flossie Bailey
Carver Community Center
Baggie Hardimon
Aliff Henley
Kokomo Urban Outreach
Rev. Ruth Lawson
Event canceled
Beth Brooke-Marciniak
Dolores Hahn-Rollins
Yvonne Ferguson-Watkins
Ryan Kitchell
Mike Murphy
Douglas Vaughn
Donald B. Smith Sr.
Brian Harlow
Reba Harris
Kokomo Park Band
Stephen J. Daily
Opha May Johnson
Alicia Berneche
Sam Rhine
“Circus” John Byers
Marilyn Skinner
Virgil Hunt
We Care
Dr. Irvin Borish
C.V. Haworth
Kathleen Ligocki
Dr. Herb Miller
Marjorie Moon
Sylvia Hutton
Monroe Seiberling
Eleanor Stein
Jane King
Dr. William Reed
Douglas Hogan, Jr.
Ted Weber

Sister Martin McEntee
Dr. Chuck Dietzen
Rev. Henry Perry
Dr. Judi Brown Clarke
Ryan White
Jonathan Dixon Maxwell
Del Demaree
David Foster
John Hingst
Lt. General William Kepner
Bob Knowling
E. P. Severns, Jr.
Sam Allen
F. S. Badger
Dr. Emily Craig
Kenny Hill
George Kingston
Major General Ed Trobaugh

Elwood Haynes “Bud” Hillis
Margaret Hillis
James R. Malone
Strother Martin
Don Pardee Moon
Dr. Harold Ritchey
Tavis Smiley
David Ashenfelter
Norman Bridwell
Elwood Haynes
Steve Kroft
Harris “Misch” Kohn
Kent “Oz” Nelson